Legal blogs as legal advertising?

Lawyers blog for a number of reasons.  Some blog about case verdicts.  Some lawyers are also judges and blog about legal issues they face.   Some lawyers blog about their own cases.  So, should lawyers include a disclaimer letting the general public know that their blog is legal advertising?  According to a recent news story, The Virginia State Bar thinks the answer is yes.

Virginia attorney Horace  Hunter blogs about general legal issues as well as his own cases.  The Bar claims the blog is legal advertising and should contain an advertising disclaimer.  Hunter claims the blog is simply news and commentary protected by the First Amendment. 

Who is right and who is wrong?  Heck if I know.  What I do know is this….When it comes to dealing with the Bar Association about my ability to practice law, I would rather be safe than sorry.  Therefore, a legal advertising disclaimer is now included on my blog.

About randywallace
I am a husband, father, attorney, outdoorsman and cook.

Leave a comment