Another First

Firsts of anything have always been memorable to me whether it was my first dog, girlfriend, school, gun, whitetail deer, 10 pound bass or whatever.

Practicing law is no different.  I remember back to my first divorce trial, first injury trial, first win and unfortunately, my first loss.  The older I get, the occurrence of firsts is significantly less frequent, but they do still occur.

This morning I experienced another first.  It was the first time in 16 plus years and several hundred attempts that I have walked into the Hinds County Chancery Courthouse in Jackson and passed through the metal detector without hearing a beep.

I was so accustomed to the beep that I had already walked forward and lifted my arms for the deputy with the handheld metal detector.  I am not certain who was more surprised, me not hearing the beep or the deputy looking at my outstretched hands which probably appeared to him like I wanted a hug.  When I told him it was the first time in 16 years that the metal detector hadn’t beeped, he laughed and checked to make sure it was still functioning.  It was.  Here’s to another first.  Good Lord willing, hopefully I will experience a few  more.1st

About randywallace
I am a husband, father, attorney, outdoorsman and cook.

Leave a comment