Garlic knots

A few weeks back my wife went to Meridian to visit family.  While on the visit, she ate at a place called Mimmo’s in Quitman.  According to my wife, it is the absolute best bread she ever tried (all the other food was really good too).

Last night I decided to have a try at making garlic knots.  I have no doubt Mimmo’s has a complicated family recipe handed down for generations.  However, since they haven’t passed this closely guarded secret around, I opted for a modified internet recipe and the handy dandy Oster bread machine.

  • 1.25 cups of warm water
  • 1.5 tablespoons of olive oil
  • 1 teaspoon of salt
  • 3.5 cups of flour
  • 2.5 teaspoons of sugar
  • 1 tablespoon of dried parsley
  • .5 teaspoon garlic powder
  • .5 teaspoon onion powder
  • .5 teaspoon dried basil flakes
  • 2 teaspoons dry yeast

After the bread machine did the work, I pulled the ball of dough out and cut it into 16 pieces.  Then, each piece was rolled out into a fat pencil shape and tied into a knot.  When the 16 knots were on the pizza plate, each was brushed with with garlic butter before going into the preheated 375 oven.  I cooked them until the edges started browning and then pulled them out for another brushing of garlic butter.  They weren’t browning quite as much as I wanted so, I turned on the broiler to finish them up.  When they came out of the oven, I sprinkled them with a mixture of salt, basil and oregano.

The end result:

20160727_223731[1]

Not bad for a first try.  The interior was slightly overcooked.  My wife liked them, but they aren’t Mimmo’s.  Better luck next time.

 

About randywallace
I am a husband, father, attorney, outdoorsman and cook.

Leave a comment