Chancellor Primeaux offers sage advice for young lawyers

I wish someone would have said this to me when I first got started.

http://chancery12.wordpress.com/2013/08/09/advice-for-a-young-lawyer/

Of course, back then I was too dang hard headed to accept it.  One piece of advice from back then did stick with me.  I associated a significantly more experienced lawyer on a nursing home case.  He had worked with my father so he knew of me, but that is about it.  Given that he had white hair and was many years my elder, I kept referring to him as Mr.

I did so on the phone and when we met in person. The second time we met in person on the case, I again addressed him as Mr.  He said something along the lines of “Randy, if we are going to keep working together you are going to have to call me by my first name.  We both went to law school and you are every bit as much of a lawyer as I am.”  That little conversation stuck with me and since that time, I have tried my best to be respectful of other lawyers regardless of where they are on their journey in terms of experience.  The older lawyer that gave me the advice went on to sit on the Mississippi Supreme Court.

About randywallace
I am a husband, father, attorney, outdoorsman and cook.

One Response to Chancellor Primeaux offers sage advice for young lawyers

  1. Anonymous says:

    Great advice for any lawyer. Nice post.

Leave a Reply

