Brisket done just right

You can cook a brisket in an oven, but why?  A man trying to avoid the use of a grill is suspect in all endeavors.

Besides that, meat on a smoker is hands down better.  Not to mention, it is easy as can be.  Take a couple of briskets and trim the fat down to not more than 1/2 an inch.  Coat them in rub from Rebel Butcher Supply in Pearl, MS.  Add a dash of fresh cracked black pepper, onion powder and garlic powder.

 

20130623_121744

 

 

 

 

Let them smoke on a Lang 84.  Regardless of whether you like the low and slow method of 14-16 hours at 225 degrees or prefer something similar to Myron Mixon’s hot and fast, most guests will never know the difference.

20130623_125416

Cook them to 195 to 202 depending on the texture.  It probably wouldn’t win any contest, but then again I don’t have BBQ contest judges eating around my house.  Sort of like my dad’s old saying when we built something…..If anyone shows up with a square or plumb-bob, I am kicking them out.

Nice smoke ring and the taste is just right for us.  For some reason, all the dogs are following me around the house now 🙂


20130623_211337

About randywallace
I am a husband, father, attorney, outdoorsman and cook.

2 Responses to Brisket done just right

  1. Anonymous says:

    Randy- nice looking 84 you have there, complete with the warming box and all. Looks like you asked Ben to custom place your thermometers, which was very smart since there’s about a 10 or 20 degree vertical temp differential. I have an 84 myself that I purchased back in 2005 and have really enjoyed it- makes whole hog a lot easier and quicker. What kind of wood do you normally cook with, or do you vary that based on what you are cooking?

    • randywallace says:

      I generally use oak for heat, but pecan and apple or persimmon for flavor. I have only cooked a whole hog about a half dozen times. A while back, a buddy asked me if I could cook him a hog “real quick” for an event. I told him there is nothing quick about a whole hog! They sure are tasty though. Take care and good cooking on your Lang.

Leave a Reply

