A Weekend of Firsts at the #Dovehunt

The older I get the fewer occasions I have to experience “firsts.”  Long gone, but not forgotten are my first deer, first turkey, first whoopin, etc.  Every now and then a first comes along to create a new memory.  Rather than one, this weekend’s dove hunt was full of them.

This was the first time my wife and I were able to get our daughter in the field with us.  She hung in about as well as a 2 1/2 year old can be expected.

Also for the first time, I played with a pup from Wildrose Kennels.  His name is Cowboy and even as a four month old puppy he was a gentleman.

It didn’t take long for him to figure out why we were there and when my first dove hit the ground he sprung into action.

After that first bird he was ready for more.

 

I have witnessed a bunch of rainbows, but this was the first one for me in the dove field.  In fact, there was a double rainbow but my dang camera didn’t pick up the second one very well.

 

Spent time with family, met some new friends, witnessed a double rainbow over a beautiful dove field, shot a limit of doves, ate some good food, played with a great puppy, and saw him make his first retrieve and his first water retrieve.  All in all, a fine weekend with some fine folks.  The 2012-2013 hunting season has officially started!

 

About randywallace
I am a husband, father, attorney, outdoorsman and cook.

Leave a Reply

