280 for 9 or 205 for 16……really doesn’t matter so long as you cook it to 190 internal

I had been cooking pigs and briskets a little hotter than recommended.  Why?  Partly out of time constraints and party because I wasn’t sure it made a whole heck of a lot of difference.  This weekend’s piggy cooked at 205 + or – 5 degrees.  118 pounds and it hit 190 inside in approximately 16 hours.  Next time, I am going back to cooking at  280 ish.  I couldn’t tell a bit of difference and there sure weren’t any complaints around the dinner table.

I will be having some form of pork leftovers for at least the next week.  Tonight, pizza.   

About randywallace
I am a husband, father, attorney, outdoorsman and cook.

Leave a Reply

