Not your average BLT

Since I could put food in my mouth, bacon has been one of my favorite things to eat.  I can’t imagine a bacon dish that isn’t great.  Kind of like Bubba Gump when he started talking about ways shrimp could be cooked.  Hillbilly Tavin Dillard speaks of his love of bacon in a way that is sure to make you laugh.  

For me, bacon is best in the middle of a biscuit, wrapped around a stuffed jalapeno, wrapped around a filet of beef, stuffed in a  pork loin, in a BLT sandwich……and on and on.  You get the picture.  In the past 30+ years there is no telling how many pounds of bacon have been consumed and enjoyed in my family.  Some was better than others, but none was bad.  

A few days ago, a good friend told me that I needed to try Benton’s bacon and that he had a couple of packages for me.  I didn’t really give it much thought, but was happy to receive a gift from a friend.  Last night I opened to bacon and in the next hour or so came to realize that it was unlike any bacon I had ever tasted.  Without hesitation I can tell you that this is the best bacon ever made.  He warned me to cook it very slow so that the flavor didn’t cook out.  The instructions that came with it actually say to err on the side of undercooking it.  So I made dang sure not to burn it.

Bread from Fresh Market and tomatoes from the Byram Farmers’ Market resulted in an outstanding final product.  I felt sorry for my poor lab that had to smell me cooking this and didn’t get a crumb.

When my friend gave it to me, he said I would be placing an order before the week was out.  He wasn’t wrong.  Rarely am I awestruck by something new to me, but this did it.

About randywallace
I am a husband, father, attorney, outdoorsman and cook.

3 Responses to Not your average BLT

  1. They also make incredibly good country hams.

  2. randywallace says:

    I heard that as well NMC. I ordered one of those too 🙂

  3. Pingback: Benton’s Smokey Mountain Country Hams « randywallace

Leave a Reply

