Growing it yourself

My garden has been hit or miss so far this year.  Squash, zucchini and peppers have been plentiful.  Tomatoes, okra and cucumbers haven’t.  Yesterday after work I walked around to figure out what was for dinner.  Easy enough, I grabbed some peppers (not hot ones…biscayne I think), squash, and zucchini.  Thankfully, we also had some onions (red and green) inside.  With a little dicing, we were ready for some country boy stir fry.

I eat very few meals that don’t include some type of meat.  For this little dish, I grabbed some deer backstrap from the freezer and made a few snips on the rosemary and basil in the herb garden. 

After a few minutes in the wok, a quarter cup of Hoover Sauce was added (if you don’t know about Hoover Sauce, you need to get your hands on some to try!) 

The outcome………..drum roll please. 

This is one of those dishes that when friends ask for a recipe, I just have to tell them that I don’t have anything specific and it changes with what I have on hand.  Most all vegetables will go together in some way in a wok. 

My recipe is nothing more than a template:

  1. Pick some veggies that you like.
  2. Cook the meat of your choice until it is 3/4 done (spice with black pepper, garlic, sea salt, basil, rosemary or whatever else you like).
  3. Toss the veggies in with a 1/4 to 1/2 cup of Hoover Sauce and stir it occasionally until the entire dish is complete.
  4. Cook a few cups of rice and cover it with what you just cooked.

It doesn’t get any easier than that and when you are finished you only have 1 pan to cleanup.

About randywallace
I am a husband, father, attorney, outdoorsman and cook.

2 Responses to Growing it yourself

  1. Mike says:

    Randy, do any stores carry Hoover Sauce, or do you have to order it through the number on the website?

    • randywallace says:

      Apple Annies Gift Shop on Grants Ferry in Brandon. 601-992-9925

      Only place that has it locally that I know of. I generally get mine directly from Mr. Lee. Depending on how much you are wanting to order, he will fit you in to his delivery schedule.

Leave a Reply

