Crawfish Before the Flood

William Johnson of Gannett Louisiana News has an article about a subject near and dear to my heart…..CRAWFISH.  It appears there is a mixed reaction as to what impact the Mississippi River Flood of 2011 will have on crawfish prices.  The Morganza Spillway is open and sending  floodwaters racing through the Atchafalaya Basin.  What I didn’t know until I read the article is that most crawfish are now pond raised.  In fact, it is estimated that wild crawfish only make up about 10 percent of the annual harvest in Louisiana.

Not wanting to take any chances on supply, demand or price increases, the Junior Class of  Terry Highschool decided to have a boil last Saturday and I helped cook the mudbugs.  After determining how many mouths needed to be fed, I started out by calling my old friend Kelly Ray at T’Beaux’s Crawfish in Clinton, MS to place an order. 6 1/2 sacks with seasoning.

 The crawfish, like the cook, appear a little plump.

My little helper was ready for the day.

First batch ready for the water.

After a full day of chasing other dogs and eating crawfish, my pup decided to take a nap under the truck.

If you want to cook some for yourself, give ol T’Beaux a call and see my prior post for cooking instructions.

About randywallace
I am a husband, father, attorney, outdoorsman and cook.

One Response to Crawfish Before the Flood

  1. Chesnee Wallace says:

    you should share this one on FB

Leave a Reply

