Growing some “sides” to go with the deer meat.

Years ago I hunted at a small deer camp in Hazlehurst, Mississippi.  As is customary in Mississippi, my friend that owned the camp often invited business guests to visit and hunt throughout the season.  Generally, guests were no threat to the local deer population.  They were there to enjoy time away from home and a stiff whiskey drink more than actually killing a deer.

One day, a guest showed up with his wife to hunt.  That evening we decided to grill deer meet and hamburgers.  Despite the fact that it was fine eating, the guest’s wife kept looking at her plate with a confused look on her face.  I was guessing that she didn’t like deer meet, but wasn’t sure.  Finally, the Jack Daniels made me ask her. She replied “the deer meat is fine, but where are the sides?”  My response……….

“M’am, I didn’t see any sides running with him when I shot him.”  Everyone fell out laughing except her.  Since then, I have taken up gardening a little so hopefully there will always be plenty of sides around my future deer meat entrees.

This year’s garden is heavy on tomatoes and peppers.  I also threw in okra, squash, zucchini and cucumbers.  Now it is just a matter of water, fertilizer and time.

About randywallace
I am a husband, father, attorney, outdoorsman and cook.

Leave a Reply

