Tuesday

Knowing that I really enjoy hot foods, peppers and spices, a friend dropped off a bottle of Dave’s Insanity Sauce for me to try. 

I have grown habaneros, jalapenos, thai hot peppers and the like for a few years, but this was the first time I literally called it quits.  The heat in a pepper is measured via the Scoville Scale.  Jalapenos and Tobasco sauce come in somewhere around 2500-8000.  Thai peppers are somewhere between 50,000 and 100,000.  Habaneros vary greatly due to soil, envirnoment, and plant stress which causes them to rate anywhere from 100,000 to 300,000 (I am guessing that the ones I have grown were at the very lowest end of the spectrum).  The Insanity Sauce hits 180,000. 

In a matter of seconds after hitting my lips, sweat poured out of my forehead, my nose ran uncontrollably and my eyes leaked tears.  For the next 30 minutes about all I could do was suck on ice.  Once I regained consciousness, I called my friend that gave me the bottle of this liquid napalm to ask what in the world he uses it for.  He replied that he dips a toothpick in the bottle and uses what sticks to the toothpick as flavoring for an entire pot of chili. 

I intended to link a few youtube videos of idiots trying to eat a spoonfull of this stuff, but most are laced with profanity induced by the intense heat.  Do they make anything hotter?  Sure. Is there anything I could use it for?  Heck no.

About randywallace
I am a husband, father, attorney, outdoorsman and cook.

One Response to Tuesday

  1. Chesnee Wallace says:

    I saw it get ya 🙂 Yikes

Leave a Reply

