A man can never have too many grills

Over my lifetime many grills have come and gone.  They run the gamut from little contraptions that would cook a couple of burgers to my Lang84 Deluxe.  All have served a purpose and most ended up wearing out somewhere along the way.  At a  deer camp we hunted in Hazlehurst we had a graveyard of broken down grills.  Trying to remember how many steaks had been cooked on all of them would be like trying to count the stars in the sky.

At the moment I own about half a dozen grills and each has its own purpose.  The Lang84 is for cooking pigs and mass quantities.  I have a Weber Little Smokey that is adequate for a couple of hamburgers.  There is a homemade grill in the backyard that is heavy as a tank, but cooks well for indirect heat situations.  At the deer camp in Bolton, I have another Little Smokey and also a large offset smoker for chickens and pork.

Up until a couple of weeks ago, I had never owned a large Weber.  That was remedied when a good friend dropped off a Weber One Touch Silver as a Christmas gift.  After about 30 minutes of reading the instructions and putting it together, last night was the grand unveiling. 

 

What better to break in a grill than some yard strutter.  Quick and easy.  Take an aluminum pan and fill it with chicken.  Add a quarter inch of water and 1 stick of butter.  Dust the top of the chicken with Rebel Butcher Supply’s BBQ rub and toss the pan on the grill.

My wife and youngun enjoyed the box the grill came in more than the grill itself.  However, I suspect if I looked at that box hard enough there would be some kind of warning telling me that the box is horribly dangerous and should not be used as a toy.  Oh well, at least we have some adult supervision.

  

The end result was perfect.  Nice tender chicken with a touch of smoke flavor.  I prefer mine simply grilled without the pan, but my wife likes it this way better.  It certainly isn’t worth arguing over and as I have preached in a previous blog………….happy wife equals happy life.

The first cooking on the Weber was a complete success.  Now that the new is knocked off of it I see some steaks in our future.

About randywallace
I am a husband, father, attorney, outdoorsman and cook.

One Response to A man can never have too many grills

  1. Pingback: Following the recipe « randywallace

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 126 other followers

